# MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING PERU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT 124 JUNE 10, 2024, 5:30 PM

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The special meeting of the month of June of the Board of Education of Peru Elementary School District 124, LaSalle County, Illinois, was called to order in the Learning Resource Center at Parkside School by Board President Patti Leynaud, on Monday, June 10, 2024, at 5:30 p.m.

## **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

President leynaud led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

# **ROLL CALL**

PRESENT: Members John Atkins, Josanne Bruins, Alison Goode, Austin Taylor, Vice President Rob Ankiewicz, and President Patti Leynaud. LATE ENTRY: Member Simon Kampwerth at 5:33 p.m.

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Superintendent Jamie Craven, PEA Co-Presidents Katie Budnick and Beth Rich.

## PUBLIC COMMENT, CORRESPONDENCE AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

There was no public comment, correspondence, or announcements at this time.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

**MOTION:** Moved by Member Bruins, seconded by Member Goode, to adjourn to Executive Session at 5:33 p.m. for the discussion of information regarding the employment, performance, or dismissal of employees or district legal counsel; and discussion of information related to employee salaries, benefits, and issues related to collective bargaining. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Bruins, Goode, Atkins, Ankiewicz, Taylor, Leynaud, and Kampwerth. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 7-0.** 

## **RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION**

**MOTION:** Moved by Member Bruins, seconded by Member Ankiewicz, to return to Regular Session at 6:05 p.m. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Bruins, Ankiewicz, Kampwerth, Taylor, Goode, Atkins, and Leynaud. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 7-0.** 

# **ACTION ITEMS AFTER EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Approval of 2024-2028 Professional Contractual Agreement with the Peru Educators' Association, IEA/NEA

**MOTION:** Moved by Member Atkins, seconded by Member Taylor, to approve the 2024-2028 Professional Contractual Agreement with the Peru Educators' Association, IEA/NEA. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Atkins, Taylor, Leynaud, Ankiewicz, Bruins, and Goode. Member Kampwerth abstained. Nays: None. **The motion carried 6-0.** 

# **Approval of 2024-2025 Non-Union Employee Salaries**

**MOTION**: Moved by Member Bruins, seconded by Member Goode, to approve the 2024-2025 non-union employee salaries as presented. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Bruins, Goode, Leynaud, Atkins, Taylor, Ankiewicz, and Kampwerth. Nays: None. **The motion carried 7-0.** 

<b>MOTION:</b> Moved by Member Atkins, seconded by Member AXE 7, NAY 0. <b>The motion carried 7-0.</b>	Ankiewicz, to adjourn at 6:07 p.m.
Patti Leynaud, Board President	Megan Baltikauski, Board Secretary